Sunday, March 26, 2023
All IndiaNews

Former Kerala Health Minister KK Shailaja Rejects Magsaysay Award

Former Kerala Health Minister KK Shailaja Rejects Magsaysay Award

KK Shailaja took the choice after consulting the celebration’s nationwide management.

Thiruvananthapuram/New Delhi:

Senior CPI(M) chief and former Kerala well being minister Okay Okay Shailaja has declined to obtain the Ramon Magsaysay Award because the late President of the Philippines was recognized for his alleged brutality towards the Communists.

While Ms Shailaja instructed reporters in Kerala that she declined the award as she was not interested by receiving it in her particular person capability, CPI(M) normal secretary Sitaram Yechury stated the award is within the title of Ramon Magsaysay who has a historical past of alleged brutal oppression of Communists within the Philippines.

Ms Shailaja, a Central committee member of the CPI(M), took the choice after consulting the celebration’s nationwide management.

The former well being minister stated she was thought of for the award for the work which was truly a part of a collective effort and it was not proper to obtain it in her particular person capability.

“…this award is in the name of Ramon Magsaysay who has the history of brutal oppression of the communists in the Philippines. So, for all these factors together, she politely refused it saying that she will be the first politician to get it,” Mr Yechury stated.

On Sunday, sure media-houses reported that Shailaja refused to simply accept the award after consulting with the celebration.

“The NGOs may not be in favour of the Communist ideology. And hence it was not right that I receive it as an individual because I was considered for something which was actually part of a collective effort. So, I decided not to accept the award. I thanked them and politely refused the award saying I was not interested in receiving it in an individual capacity,” Ms Shailaja stated.

Mr Yechury, who met reporters in New Delhi, stated the award was being given for the style by which the general public well being points have been managed in Kerala.

“This is a collective effort of the LDF government and the Health Department in Kerala. So, this is not any individual effort,” Yechury stated.

He stated the Magsaysay Award has not been given to any lively politician to this point and the Central committee is the best decision-making physique of the celebration.

Left leaders who spoke on the problem have claimed that Magsaysay was a staunch anti-Communist who oversaw the defeat of Communists (Hukbalahap, a Communist guerrilla motion fashioned by the farmers of Central Luzon) within the Philippines within the Nineteen Fifties.

The Rockefeller Brothers Fund (RBF) in 1957 established the Ramon Magsaysay Awards to honour the late President of the Philippines, who died in a aircraft crash in March 1957. The awards got for contributions made by residents of the Philippines and different Asian international locations in authorities service, public service, worldwide understanding, journalism and literature, and group management.

Indians together with filmmaker Satyajit Ray and cartoonist R Okay Laxman, former election commissioner T N Sheshan, singer M S Subbulakshmi, scientist M S Swaminathan, former Puducherry Lieutenant Governor Kiran Bedi and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal are among the many previous awardees.

Source link

What's your reaction?

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *